Tulo’s double hit single in one at bat

by Bill Chuck on June 28, 2011

The Yankees victory over the Rockies on Saturday, Troy Tulowitzki did something you certainly don’t see very frequently. When Tulo singled off CC Sabathia, he actually hit the ball twice.

Take a look:

 

Support Billy-Ball.com and the Bill Chuck Files
Share
  • Hambone

    Umpire blew out. Hitting a batted ball 2x means he should have been called out.
    Stupid announcers.

  • Hambone

    Correction, foul ball.

    (e) An Infield Fly is declared;
    (f) He attempts to hit a third strike and the ball touches him;
    (g) His fair ball touches him before touching a fielder. If the batter is in a legal position in the batter’s box, see Rule 6.03, and, in the umpire’s judgment, there was no intention to interfere with the course of the ball, a batted ball that strikes the batter or his bat shall be ruled a foul ball;
    (h) After hitting or bunting a fair ball, his bat hits the ball a second time in fair territory. The ball is dead and no runners may advance. If the batter-runner drops his bat and the ball rolls against the bat in fair territory and, in the umpire’s judgment, there was no intention to interfere with the course of the ball, the ball is alive and in play. If the batter is in a legal position in the batter’s box, see Rule 6.03, and, in the umpire’s judgment, there was no intention to interfere with the course of the ball, a batted ball that strikes the batter or his bat shall be ruled a foul ball;

Previous post:

Next post: